The Classified Files of the State — Part Two

Hidden crimes

Fegensi
3 min readMar 6, 2024
Photo by David Nitschke on Unsplash

Part Two

Months had passed since the incident, and everything seemed to have returned to normal. I was never contacted, possibly because there were hundreds of people on Vauxhall Bridge at the time, making it difficult for the police to interrogate everyone quickly. I never told anyone what I had seen that day. Eventually, summer arrived, and everyone was relieved to escape the fog, semi-frozen food, and the monotony of work. In the summer, there were more options for the city’s inhabitants, who preferred exploring London’s hidden gems during the warm months.

The summer festival in Hyde Park was in full swing, and many people were topless, advocating for equality and demanding respect from those who disagreed with them. I found myself unexpectedly drawn toward conservatism, even though I had never considered myself a conservative. In that moment, I became one. I kept thinking about the events of the past winter and wondered if the woman I had seen at the window was somehow connected to the deaths of the two agents and the missing state secrets.

Despite the summer’s chaos, I spotted a woman walking and meditating among the nearly naked street performers. As I walked, I passed a bookstore offering a sale on George Orwell’s 1984. I stepped inside to see if I could…

--

--

Fegensi

Encontré mi libertad en un folió en blanco que me deja escribir las verdades ocultas que ni yo mismo podría decir. Pacifista & Ecologista.